The Women’s Health Victoria Board is governed by a group of dedicated women; comprising of twelve voluntary members. Our Board brings a wide range of commercial, not-for-profit and business skills, expertise and knowledge to Women’s Health Victoria.


Its key role is to oversee the strategic direction of the organisation with a focus on governance and associated business functions. It ensures the organisation is working toward its vision of women living well - healthy, empowered and equal.

Board of Directors for 2019

Christine Fitzherbert

Christine Fitzherbert MBA, BA (Politics), GradDip (IR), Company Director’s Diploma in Finance
Chair - Elected to Board: Oct 2013

Christine Fitzherbert, until recently, was Executive Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development at Melbourne Health. Christine now runs her own consultancy practice specialising in the field of organisational performance, management and cultural change.  In addition, Christine is the CEO of the St Kilda Police & Citizens Youth Club (PCYC), a not-for-profit organisation specialising in youth support services and a gymnasium.

Candy Broad

Candy Broad BComm (UWA), GAICD, GAIST 
Deputy Chair - Elected to Board: Oct 2013

Candy Broad contributes extensive experience in governance and on issues associated with reforming Victoria’s statutory framework for women’s sexual and reproductive health choices and devising more integrated government responses to the prevention of family violence.

Cristina Wolters

Cristina Wolters BBus (Acc), M Taxation (Melb), GAICD 
Treasurer - Elected to Board: Oct 2011

Cristina Wolters is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Fellow of the Taxation Institute of Australia and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Cristina is currently General Manager of Taxation at Transurban.

Tania Angelini

Tania Angelini MA (Comm), GradCert Prof Writ & Edit, B Arts (Media Art)
Member - Elected to Board: Oct 2013

Tania Angelini has extensive experience in strategic communications, issues management and public relations and is currently the Chief Communications Officer at the Royal Women’s Hospital.

Kate Broun

Kate Broun Bach. App. Sci (Health Promotion) (Honours), Post. Dip. App Sci (Org Dynamics)
Member - Elected to Board: Oct 2016

Kate Broun is the Manager of Screening, Early Detection and Immunisation at Cancer Council Victoria. She brings extensive experience in health promotion, cancer prevention and women’s health.

Helen Coleman

Helen Coleman, OAM FAICD, Dip Com Dev (Swinburne) and BSc (RMIT)
Member - Elected to Board: Oct 2011

Helen Coleman is a former local government Councillor and Mayor and has taken leadership roles in gender equity within Local Government and the wider community.  Helen brings experience serving on several boards, working in government, the community and health services fields.

Elizabeth Dax

Elizabeth Dax Associate Professor AM; MD, BS; PhD; GAIDC
Member - Elected to Board: Oct 2016

Elizabeth Dax retired from her career in medicine and science in 2009. She is a director on three not-for-profit boards, including Chair of the Dax Centre Ltd. Her last appointments (1990-2009) were as director of the National Serology Reference Laboratory, Australia and the World Health Organisation Collaborating Centre on diagnostics of blood born viruses.

Judy Hacker

Judy Hacker B.Ec, Dip.Ed, Certificate in marketing
Member - Elected to Board: Oct 2016

Judy Hacker’s experience covers 30 years in the corporate world in senior marketing roles and the establishment of her own business Maxim Marketing. Strategic development, communications, brand strategy and governance are particular areas of interest and expertise.


Emily Howie BA, LLB, LLM (Columbia)
Member - Co-opted: July 2018, Elected to Board: Oct 2018

Emily Howie in her role as Director of Legal Advocacy and Research at the Human Rights Law Centre, ensures women have access to reproductive health rights through advocacy and legal action.

Jennifer O’Donnell-Pirisi

Jennifer O’Donnell-Pirisi
Member - Elected to Board: Oct 2011

Jennifer O’Donnell-Pirisi, through her previous role in the Trade Union movement, was one of the founding members of the Family Violence clause that now covers more than 2 million Australian workers. She designed and delivered the inaugural, Rail and Maritime Transport Union New Zealand, Helen Kelly Women in Union Leadership Program. She is passionate about gender equality.

kate phillips

Kate Phillips MAICD, Bach. App. Sci (Human Movement); Finance & Accounting for the Non-financial Executive
Member - Elected to Board: Oct 2017

Kate Phillips is currently the Independent Chair - Regional Family Violence Partnership, Eastern Region and Manager, Emerging Practice at Our Watch. She brings a high level of understanding in enhancing financial performance and has experience in organisation-wide strategy development and policy, building corporate culture and supporting the primary health needs of Victoria’s regional and remote women attained from her previous roles including that of Chief Executive Officer at YMCA Ballarat.


Magdalena Simonis MBBS FRACGP DipObst RANZCOG
Member - Elected to Board: Oct 2013-Oct 2015, Re-elected Oct 2017

Magdalena Simonis is a practicing GP with interests in community health, chronic disease prevention, and women’s health. Magdalena is on the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners Expert Committee for Quality Care, is an Honorary Research Fellow with the department of General Practice at the University of Melbourne and is the current President of the Victorian Medical Women’s Society. 

Our board members, staff and volunteers work to a values-based code of conduct, which sets expectations about our leadership and integrity; our belief in empowerment of others; our belief in equality of opportunities and rights; our feminist commitment to women’s equality and to challenging gender norms, practices and structures.

Board Director positions are voluntary with expenses reimbursed.

If you are Interested in Board positions please contact the CEO on 96649300